“Do not read, as children do, to amuse yourself, or like the ambitious, for the purpose of instruction. No, read in order to live.”
― Gustave Flaubert

This is important. Sometimes we just forget why we read. People shouldn’t read because they want to be better than everyone else. They should do it because they want to learn, to live, to become better people. I don’t know… most of my life other people have asked me why I read, how I do it that much. The thing is that I love it so much that I wouldn’t know how to stop. I also don’t want to.

Life would just be too sad without books, don’t you think?

18 thoughts on “

  1. This is true. Books are for learning not only academic stuff but also about life. I also read a lot of books, first it used to be crime fiction but now I choose books about topics I want to know more about. I just finished a book on travel writing to inspire me in my blogging.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely agree with this and life would absolutely be too sad without books! I love reading for all different reasons and I have learned so much from books, even fictional books! I could never stop reading…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So true. Not only are books key to enriching ones life, they are the very cornerstone of any civilisation and civilised society. It is no coincidence that the first thing to be banned or burnt by any Dictator/Despot/Oppressive Regime is always books. Books give life and hope to the reader.Books need love too!
    Dookes

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I just found your blog through @desleyjane. I agree, books are amazing! I used to read constantly but, it got a little tough once I had a child. But, last year I read a few. My favorites have been British mysteries. I don’t know why. I fell in love with Agatha Christie in middle school and haven’t looked back. I would like to explore more non-fiction but, it would have to interest me. 🙂

    P.S. Isn’t it funny to be reading about reading???? (Silly observation)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

