Why in the world didn’t I study literature? (part 3)

This is part three of a series of posts I’ve been writing to convince myself I took the right decision. It’s also the last one.

Part one, if you’re interested: https://fearlesslynat.wordpress.com/2014/10/19/why-in-the-world-didnt-i-study-literature/

Part two: https://fearlesslynat.wordpress.com/2014/11/01/why-in-the-world-didnt-i-study-literature-part-2/

Hope you enjoy. 🙂


On my last post, I talked about why I chose Science, and didn’t state the reasons why I left Literature behind, which is not fair.

Most of my posts are about how much I love reading. Reading is my life, and I’m always excited for the next book that is coming up. Then again, if I studied Literature, I would be exposed to everything, all the time, and I was afraid that I would lose my love of reading along the way. This is still my biggest fear, since reading is my shelter. It is my safe haven, and I don’t want to lose that. I must admit that was my main reason for not even thinking about Literature as an option. I would have done well, though.

Like I said on my last post, I didn’t explore the possibility like I should have when I was a senior, but I recently worked on that. I wanted to be sure I had made the right decision. Two weeks ago, I read all the requirements I needed. It was full of Humanities, Social Sciences, Spanish, English and other languages. I thought that was possible for me. It looked easy. I must say, I was tempted to go away and start anew, but that felt like giving up, and I am not a quitter. If I had space for other electives, though, I would take Creative Writing and other electives that helped me become a better writer. This has been a dream of mine for a while, and I want to learn how to organize my thoughts, create worlds and make people feel strong emotions, just like I do when I am reading a great book.

A doctor I met a while ago had a double major in biology and literature. He made me realize that I could have the best of both worlds. Please ignore my horrible Hannah Montana reference. I will not double major, sadly, but I can still work on my love for literature. When I have the time, I will definitely take literary courses. I will learn to write better, since reading and writing are essential skills for any profession. My Spanish professor says that Literature sensitizes people. I will most certainly not lose that, not in a million years.

I will not lose my passion for books, but my love for discoveries and Science will always be there and I had to acknowledge it. If I hadn’t, I would have gone mad.

Leave a Reply

